36th Annual Meeting: Science-Based Policy for Wisconsin's Water Resources

Meeting Information

March 1 - 2, 2012 at the Chula Vista Resort, 2501 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells WI 53965

Download the Conference Registration Information and Mail-in Form [1 MB pdf file].

Download the final Conference Program [2 MB pdf file].

Meeting Highlights

The 36th Annual Meeting of the Wisconsin Section of the American Water Resources Association was held March 1-2, 2012 at the Chula Vista Resort in the Wisconsin Dells. There were about 200 registrants who attended the meeting which included 39 oral presentations and 37 poster presentations. The theme of the meeting was "Science-Based Policy for Wisconsin's Water Resources". In support of this theme Jim Ostrom, co-founder of MilkSource, and Shali Pfeiffer, natural resources staff specialist at the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, gave plenary talks on modern dairy farming and Wisconsin groundwater policy, respectively. Meg Galloway, chief of the Dams and Floodplain Section of the WDNR, was the dinner speaker and discussed the restoration of Lake Delton after the flood of June 2008. Plans are already underway for the 2013 annual meeting which will be held March 7-8 in the Milwaukee area. We hope that you keep the AWRA meeting in your plans for 2013!

Picture of Dinner
Jim Ostrom delivers his plenary address entitled Large-scale sustainable farming.
Picture of Posters
Meeting attendees interact at the evening poster and mixer session.
Picture of Presenter
Shalli Pfeiffer delivers her plenary address entitled DNR high capacity well review after the 2011 Wisconsin State Supreme Court "Lake Beulah" Decision.

Distinguished Service Award

The Wisconsin Section of AWRA is pleased to award the Distinguished Service Award to Doug Cherkauer of the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee. Thank you, Doug, and congratulations!

Picture of Douglas Cherkauert, Distinguished Service Award recipient
Doug Cherkauer, Professor of Geosciences at the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, receives the Distinguised Service Award from Bob Stelzer, AWRA President.

Student Presentation Awards

AWRA encourages student participation in its annual meeting by recognizing the best student oral presentation, best student poster, and undergraduate excellence in either the oral or poster categories. This year's competition featured oral presentations by twelve graduate students and posters by five graduate and three undergraduate students.

Best Student Oral Presentation Award went to Jeffrey F. Miller, University of Wisconsin-Madison for A Comparison of Stormwater Detention Capabilities of Four Neighboring Wetland Swales.

Best Student Poster Award went to Adam J. Bechle, University of Wisconsin-Madison for Development and Application of an Automated River-Estuary Discharge Imaging System.

Picture of Jeffrey Miller and Adam Bechle, Student Awards
Jeffrey Miller and Adam Bechle, both at UW-Madision, pose proudly with Steve Gaffield (Past AWRA President). Jeffrey and Adam were winners of the Best Oral Presentation Award and Best Poster Presentation Award, respectively.